top of page

NEWS

Did You Know?

Group exercise offers a variety of benefits you might miss out on if you choose to work out on your own. Some of the benefits include exposure to a social and fun environment, a safe and effectively designed workout, a consistent exercise schedule, an accountability factor for participating in exercise, and a workout that requires no prior exercise knowledge or experience.

Health & Fitness News.

  • Writer's pictureSONYV1

H2O

I decided my first blog entry would have to be about water. Have you ever considered how much of the earth is water? Well, about 71 percent of the Earth's surface is water-covered, and the oceans hold about 96.5 percent of all Earth's water. Water also exists in the air as water vapor, in rivers and lakes, in icecaps and glaciers, in the ground as soil moisture and in aquifers, and even in us. I have noticed how much better my body functions when I drink great portions of water. Now, it is said that it is commonly recommended we drink eight 8-ounce glasses, which equals about 2 liters, or half a gallon. This is called the 8×8 rule and is very easy to remember. However, how much you should actually drink is more individualized than you might think. The Institute of Medicine (IOM) currently recommends that men should drink at least 104 ounces of water per day, which is 13 cups. They say women should drink at least 72 ounces, which is 9 cups. Even still, the answer to exactly how much water you should drink isn’t so simple.

When I was at my best I was drinking much more based on an article I read that stated “It depends on your size and weight, and also on your activity level and where you live,” Nessler says. “In general, you should try to drink between half an ounce and an ounce of water for each pound you weigh, every day.” For example, if you weigh 150 pounds, that would be 75 to 150 ounces of water a day." For me, this was and still is a larger number so, if you want to try this take it slow. In rare cases, drinking an extreme amount of water in a short time can be dangerous; causing the level of salt, or sodium, in your blood to drop too low. This is a condition called hyponatremia. It's very serious, and can be fatal. You may also hear it called water intoxication.

I've always considered myself to be a water baby and though I love water, I recognize how sometimes I allow myself to lose sight of at least drinking the required amount. It's amazing how quickly we let the flesh rule us instead of the other way around.

Heavenly Father, I know I'm not the only one who struggles with healthy eating habits. Help us to make smart changes to our lifestyles. Help us to see that our small changes truly do make a big difference. Lord, keep us encouraged and focused as we make healthy lifestyle changes. I know that we are all excited to see the plans You have for our overall health and self-image. Help us to grow spiritually, mentally and physically on our journey with each You and each other. In Jesus' name. Amen.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

consider joining a gym where you can work out with others and learn new things...

here are a few to start with

bottom of page